Sabtu, 26 Februari 2011

English Language

English is an Anglo-Frisian language brought to Britain in the 5th Century AD by Germanic settlers from various parts of northwest Germany. The original Old English language was subsequently influenced by two successive waves of invasion. The first was by speakers of languages in the Scandinavian branch of the Germanic family, who colonised parts of Britain in the 8th and 9th centuries. Keep reading to learn more.

English Language

English is a West Germanic language which is the dominant language in the United Kingdom, the United States, many Commonwealth nations including Australia, Canada, New Zealand and other former British colonies. It is the second most spoken language in the world. It is estimated that there are 380 million native speakers and 300 million who use English as a second language and a further 100 million use it as a foreign language. It is the language of science, aviation, computing, diplomacy, and tourism. It is listed as the official or co-official language of over 45 countries and is spoken extensively in other countries where it has no official status. English plays a part in the cultural, political or economic life of the following countries. Majority English speaking populations are shown in bold.

  • Antigua
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • Brunei (with Malay)
  • Cameroon (with French)
  • Canada (with French)
  • Dominica
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India (with several Indian languages)
  • Ireland (with Irish Gaelic)
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya (with Swahili)
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho (with Sotho)
  • Liberia
  • Malawi (with Chewa)
  • Malta (with Maltese)
  • Mauritius
  • Namibia (with Afrikaans)
  • Nauru (with Nauruan)
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan (with Urdu)
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines (with Tagalog)
  • Puerto Rico (with Spanish)
  • St Christopher and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent
  • Senegal (with French)
  • Seychelles (with French)
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore (with Malay, Mandarin and Tamil)
  • South Africa (with Afrikaans, Xhosa and Zulu)
  • Surinam (with Dutch)
  • Swaziland (with Swazi)
  • Tanzania (with Swahili)
  • Tonga (with Tongan)
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Kingdom and its dependecies
  • United States of America and its dependencies
  • Vanatu (with French)
  • Western Samoa (with Samoan)
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar